She was a well-known American novelist and journalist who documented the lives of ordinary people who were impacted by war and violence. I was a writer before I met him, and I have been a writer for 45 years since, she once complained. Martha Gellhorn was a gorgeous, brilliant foreign correspondent once married to Hemingway. Of war reporting to relative period of inactivity and they divorced in the 1980s between the U.S.-backed military Marxist '' > Bonhams: Gellhorn, Martha Gellhorn stood in a protest called the Golden Lane open up conversation., Hemingway & # x27 ; s life as a journalist took to. In Spain, Martha and Hemingways affair began and Martha also became friends with famed war photographer Robert Capa. It was co-produced and directed by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick. Following the war in Europe, Martha and Hemingway divorced in 1945 and Martha went on to report on the liberation of concentration camps across the continent as well as the Nuremberg trials. Martha Gellhorn was a brave and bright woman in her time. Her legacy was to leave a set of fearless articles on some of the major conflicts of the 20th century, including the Spanish Civil War, World War Two and Vietnam articles which were all characterised by a profound sense of right and wrong, astute observations on human nature and true courage. She is also survived by an adopted son, Sandy Gellhorn, and her brother, Alfred. "I think it's horrible to scare people about life merely because they are female and have the emotional make-up -- in certain respects -- of males, or what males supposedly have." Selected Letters of Martha Gellhorn. In 1948, Martha moved to Mexico and in 1949 adopted her son, Sandy, from an orphanage in Italy. [20] As she put it once, "I've been a writer for over 40 years. Gellhorn, Martha (1908-1998) American journalist and fiction writer who was the leading female war correspondent of World War II. [12] She had found, as had his other wives, that, as described by Bernice Kert in Th